You didn’t get any notification when you are blocked on WhatsApp. In fact, you can still send messages to that person. If your message isn’t delivered or read (i.e. no double or blue ticks), it might be possible that the person isn’t active on WhatsApp.
On the other hand, if you can’t see someone’s last seen, profile picture and WhatsApp status, it might also be possible that the person has either changed his privacy settings or removed your contact from their address book.
How to find if you have been blocked on WhatsApp
Here are a couple of signals that can help you to find out if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp or not.
- Check last seen – Go to the person’s chat and check if you see any last seen or online status below the contact name. If it is visible, then you aren’t blocked.
On the other hand, if you can’t see the last seen or active status of the user, it may be possible that you have been blocked. Don’t make any solid conclusion at this point and take your investigation to the next step.
- Check profile picture – Earlier, WhatsApp used to display the same old profile picture of the user when you are blocked. Now it doesn’t display any profile picture to the blocked users.
If you don’t see any update in the person’s profile picture, you may have been blocked. To confirm this, you can check the profile picture from your mutual friend’s WhatsApp. If you can see it from their WhatsApp, then clearly you have been blocked.
- Check WhatsApp status – WhatsApp will also restrict you from viewing the WhatsApp status of the person who has blocked you. However, this will also happen when the person has changed his status privacy to share WhatsApp status with specific contacts only.
If you know that the person has posted a WhatsApp status and you aren’t seeing it in your WhatsApp, then consider this point while making your final conclusion to know if you have been blocked.
- Check message delivered status (double ticks) – Any messages you have sent to the person who has blocked you will not be delivered to him. So it is a good way to find out if someone has blocked you.
Simply, send a message to the person and if it shows only a single check mark, then your message isn’t delivered. Double check marks mean that your messages are delivered and luckily, you are not blocked.
- Call on WhatsApp – As stated on the WhatsApp’s official website, any call you would attempt to make to the person on WhatsApp who has blocked you will not go through.
- Try to add the person in a WhatsApp group – To know if someone has blocked you, try to add that person in a WhatsApp group. If it displays an error message as “Couldn’t add *this contact*“, then you have been blocked.
There is no simple rule to know if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp. Based on the indicators that we have discussed above, you have to conclude it by yourself.
If more than one of these indicators are true, then you may have been blocked by the suspected user. We hope you find this guide helpful. If you want to ask something, let me know in the comment section.