28 January 2019

How to Share WhatsApp Status With Specific People Only

Leave a Comment
WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature called Status which allows you to share photos, videos, text and animated GIFs with your WhatsApp contacts. WhatsApp status will last long for 24 hours only and it will be deleted automatically once it has completed its time period.

Share WhatsApp status with specific contacts only

By default, your WhatsApp status is visible to your WhatsApp contacts only. If you have saved someone's phone number in your address book but the other person has not saved your number, then you both cannot view each other's WhatsApp status.

Sometimes, you don't want to share your WhatsApp status with everyone due to some privacy reasons. This tutorial will guide you how to share your WhatsApp status with specific people only.

How to share WhatsApp status with specific people only


WhatsApp has an option in status privacy which lets you manage who can see your WhatsApp status. You can either select only those contacts who you want to share your WhatsApp status with or in another way, you can add contacts in the exception list to prevent them from viewing your WhatsApp status.

This step-by-step guide shows you how to share your WhatsApp status with specific people only -
  1. Open WhatsApp and move to the Status tab.
    WhatsApp status privacy option
  2. Now tap the menu button (three dots at the top right corner of the screen) and click "Status privacy" option.
    Alternatively, go to WhatsApp Settings > Account > Privacy and tap the Status option under Who can see my personal info.
    WhatsApp privacy settings
  3. By default, your status privacy is set to "My Contacts". If you want to share your WhatsApp status with all your contacts except few of them, then click "My contacts except..." option and select the contacts you want to hide your status from.
    WhatsApp status privacy option
  4. If you want to share your WhatsApp status with specific contacts only, then click "Only share with..." option and select those contacts
Note: Unlike Instagram story privacy, when you change your WhatsApp status privacy settings, it won't affect status updates you have posted already i.e. they will still be visible to all your contacts. You can delete those statuses and post them again.

WhatsApp can make some improvements in the status privacy by adding an ability to create multiple lists so that people can manage their friends, family, colleagues and other contacts separately. It's also important to show the current privacy settings while updating the status.

So that's how you can share your WhatsApp status with specific contacts only. We hope you find this guide helpful. If you want to ask something related to this tutorial, feel free to share it in the comment section below.

Leave A Comment