We would not be wrong to title WhatsApp as the most popular instant messaging app. It has been the number one choice of all of us ever since when we started using smartphones. WhatsApp has complete changed the way we used to do messaging in the past. Now messaging is more fun with group chatting, media sharing, voice/video calling and other features.
WhatsApp has also given some privacy features to the users such as blocking. If you don’t want someone to message you on WhatsApp, you can block that person. Likewise, if someone don’t want to talk to you, they can block you and then you won’t be able to send them any further messages. WhatsApp doesn’t even let the blocked person know that they have been blocked via any notification.
Many times we get blocked on WhatsApp by someone close to us, which can happen due to various reasons. In such a situation, we get very upset as we can’t talk to that person again. If someone has blocked you on WhatsApp, you would be happy to know that you can still message them by using a very simple trick that we are going to share in this article. We will also discuss how you can find out if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp. Without further ado, let’s get started!
How to know if you have been blocked
The first thing you need to do is to confirm that if you have been blocked or not. There is no notification from the WhatsApp side to let you know that the person has blocked you. You have to find it out yourself by looking at some indications. Here we have shared some tips that will allow you to know whether you have been blocked on WhatsApp –
- Check the profile picture of the user.
- Check the last seen or online status.
- Try sending a message.
- Check the WhatsApp status of the user.
- Try to make a voice/video call.
- Try creating a WhatsApp group with the person.
- Check the user’s profile from a different account.
There is no hard and fast rule to know if you have been blocked on WhatsApp. The things that we have listed above are some signs that indicate that the person may have blocked you, however, this may not be true always as sometimes the user can also deactivate their WhatsApp account or remove you from their contact list and these things can be true in such cases also. If you had a fight with your loved one and after that all these signs are found to be true then you have got your answer.
1. Delete and re-create your WhatsApp account
The first method to message someone who blocked you on WhatsApp is by deleting your account and creating a new again with the same phone number. By doing this, you will get unblocked automatically and then you will be able to message the person who blocked you. Please note that you will lose all your chats and old backups with this method. So you have to decide what is more important to you – getting unblocked or saving your WhatsApp backup.
This step-by-step guide will show you how to delete and re-create your WhatsApp account to message the person who blocked you –
- Open WhatsApp on your smartphone and go to the Settings option. On Android, this option is available in the menu at the top-right corner, while iOS users can directly switch to the Settings tab from the menu at the bottom.
- Next, click on the Account option.
- Now tap on the “Delete My Account” option given. Enter your country code and phone number. After that, tap on Delete My Account button again.
- Now close WhatsApp and open it again. You can also take an additional step to uninstall and re-install the app in order to make sure everything goes fine.
- Now you can start with the process of re-creating your WhatsApp account. Simply, open the app, accept the terms and conditions, enter your phone number, confirm the OTP verification, and follow the rest of the steps.
- When prompted to restore your old backup, be sure to cancel it, otherwise WhatsApp will block you from the user again.
- Once you have successfully re-created your WhatsApp account, open the user’s chat and you will find that you have been unblocked. Now you can message the person and it will reach him. Be sure to not do anything that can get you blocked again.
2. WhatsApp group method
In the second method, you will have to take the help of a friend. Ask a common friend to create a new WhatsApp group and add both of you in it including the person who blocked you. After doing this, your friend can leave the group and then only two of you will be left.
WhatsApp group will convert into one-to-one chat where you can message the person whatever you want to say. Every message sent in the group will reach the blocker even if they have blocked you in personal chat. The advantage of this method is that you will not lose your chats and backup as in the first one.
Please note that only an authorised person can add a user to a WhatsApp group based on the settings selected in their group privacy – “Who can add me to group”. WhatsApp provides three options for this setting i.e. Everyone, My Contacts, and My Contacts Except. Make sure the common friend that you choose to create a WhatsApp group is in the contact list of the user you want him to add.
Bonus Trick: If none of the above methods worked for you, there is another trick by which you can send messages to a blocked WhatsApp contact. What you have to do is to create a fake WhatsApp account with a virtual number. For more information on this topic, you can check out our detailed guide on how to create fake WhatsApp account.
Getting blocked by our loved ones on WhatsApp is the most annoying thing that can happen to anyone. When you are blocked, you can’t contact that person anymore. None of your messages will be delivered to them. If you have also been blocked by someone, you can try out these methods to bypass the WhatsApp block system and message the person even when you have been restricted to do so. We hope this guide was helpful for you. If you have any questions in your mind, let us know in the comments below.